Agriculture in the Classroom

Staff Members

The Faces of AITC-M

Sue Clayton, Executive Director
sue@aitc.mb.ca

I want to help more young people realize that farming is important, understand why they should care where their food comes from and explore the great career opportunities in agriculture.
 


Renee Reimer, Finance/Admin Manager

renee@aitc.mb.ca

I was fortunate to grow up on a farm and experience firsthand where my food comes from, but many don't get that opportunity. It's important for students to know where their food comes from, so they can make informed decisions and think critically about what they hear about food and farming.
 


Katharine Cherewyk, 
Program and Volunteer Manager
katharine@aitc.mb.ca

I love knowing that our school programs and resources help contribute to a more informed society where consumers and voters can make smart decisions about the food they eat, and the role that agriculture plays in feeding the world.
 

Karen Hill, Curriculum Specialist
karen@aitc.mb.ca

Because of AITC-M, Manitoba students are learning the importance of agriculture in their daily lives, our economy and our environment. That’s powerful and I love being a part of it.
 


Kira
Rowat, Program Manager
kira@aitc.mb.ca


I have always enjoyed the element of wonder and problem-solving in agriculture, whether working in the fields of Manitoba, urban gardening plots in Ottawa or food security in Zambia. It is rewarding to be able to work with AITC-M, in providing a unique, hands-on agricultural education to our students.


Tenesha Lawson, Communications 
Coordinator and Program Manager
tenesha@aitc.mb.ca

I was raised in the city and had little exposure to agriculture growing up, so I see myself in the students we work with. Every agriculture touchpoint AITC-M makes is crucial in building strong farm-to-food connections for Manitoba students.
 


Larissa Peitsch, Program Assistant

larissa@aitc.mb.ca

Because of AITC-M, Manitoba students have the opportunity to learn about the importance of farming and where our food comes from. Seeing students' eyes light up when they learn something new about agriculture is an amazing experience, and I feel privileged to be a part of it.